VA - Johnny Cash: Forever Words (2018) [Hi-Res]


Trusted Editor
Trusted Editor
Jun 11, 2022
Reaction score
VA - Johnny Cash: Forever Words (2018) [Hi-Res]
Artist: VA
Title: Johnny Cash: Forever Words
Year Of Release: 2018
Label: Legacy Recordings
Genre: Country, Folk
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks) / 24bit-96kHz FLAC
Total Time: 56:59
Total Size: 132 / 344 MB / 1.15 GB


1. Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson - Forever / I Still Miss Someone 00:47
2. Ruston Kelly & Kacey Musgraves - To June This Morning 02:05
3. Brad Paisley - Gold All Over the Ground 03:31
4. Chris Cornell - You Never Knew My Mind 04:57
5. Alison Krauss & Union Station - The Captain's Daughter 04:59
6. T Bone Burnett - Jellico Coal Man 03:40
7. Rosanne Cash - The Walking Wounded 05:05
8. John Mellencamp - Them Double Blues 02:50
9. Jewel - Body On Body 04:27
10. Elvis Costello - I'll Still Love You 02:49
11. Carlene Carter - June's Sundown 03:38
12. Dailey & Vincent - He Bore It All 03:16
13. I'm With Her - Chinky Pin Hill 03:24
14. Robert Glasper feat. Ro James, & Anu Sun - Goin', Goin', Gone 04:12
15. The Jayhawks - What Would I Dreamer Do? 03:16
16. Jamey Johnson - Spirit Rider 04:19

Johnny Cash: Forever Words is a collaborative album consisting of 16 songs created from Johnny Cash's unknown poetry, lyrics, and letters set to music by an astounding array of contemporary artists including Chris Cornell, Ruston Kelly & Kacey Musgraves, Rosanne Cash, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Brad Paisley, Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson, John Mellencamp, Elvis Costello, and more.

For nearly 60 years, the words of Johnny Cash have reached across cultural, spiritual and ideological borders. He was not only a singer of great songs, but a teller of universal truths about justice, faith, love, and independence. It was in this spirit that Johnny Cash: Forever Words, was created.

Over the past two years, album producers John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz invited a stellar cast of musicians to create to accompany these newly discovered Cash writings.

Recorded primarily at The Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee, Johnny Cash: Forever Words is also the musical companion to the best-selling "Forever Words: The Unknown Poems," a volume of Cash's unpublished writing edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon and curated by John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz.

Many of the songs on Johnny Cash: Forever Words were directly inspired by material in the book while others are drawn from different sources of Cash's unpublished writings. The tone of the album is established with the opening track "Forever/I Still Miss Someone" featuring Kris Kristofferson reciting the last poem Cash ever wrote alongside guitar accompaniment from Willie Nelson, both lifelong friends of Johnny. Continuing the close-to-home theme, the music then transitions to the deeply personal "To June This Morning," a letter Johnny wrote to his wife, June Carter Cash, now interpreted by real-life couple Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves.

Twenty-one years after Johnny Cash recorded his cover of Soundgarden's "Rusty Cage" for his Grammy Award winning album, Unchained, Chris Cornell continues this special relationship with "You Never Knew My Mind," setting some of Cash's own poignant and introspective words to original music on one of Cornell's last solo recordings.

The album also showcases Rosanne Cash, Johnny Cash's eldest daughter, who interpreted her father's "The Walking Wounded," marking just the second time that she has collaborated on a record with her half-brother John Carter Cash.

John Carter Cash also collaborated here with his half-sister Carlene, his mother June's first daughter, on "June's Sundown." Carlene Carter was just twelve years old when her mother June Carter married Johnny Cash, but bonded immediately with her stepfather who she referred to as "Big John."

The Grammy Award winning bluegrass super-group Alison Krauss & Union Station made a rare recording together on "The Captain's Daughter," the group's first new studio recording in six years.

"Determining the artist for each song was truly a matter of the heart," said John Carter Cash. "I picked the artists who are most connected with my father, who had a personal story that was connected with Dad. It became an exciting endeavor to go through these works, to put them together and present them to different people who could finish them in a way that I believed that Dad would have wanted."

When making the Johnny Cash: Forever Words album, producers John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz tapped into a spirit of musical collaboration between the musicians and the words of Johnny Cash. The goal of Johnny Cash: Forever Words was not to create a "lost" Johnny Cash album, but rather for musicians to connect with these poems and allow them to flourish in a al world.


Johnny_Cash_Forever_Words_FLAC.rar - 344.6 MB
Johnny_Cash_Forever_Words_Hi-Res.rar - 1.2 GB
Johnny_Cash_Forever_Words_MP3.rar - 132.6 MB





Top Bottom